The Missouri General Assembly passed a gas tax increase in May 2021 to help fund road and bridge projects. On Tuesday, July 13, Governor Mike Parson (R) signed Senate Bill 262 (sponsored by Senate President Pro Tem Dave Schatz, R-Sullivan).

Beginning in October 2021 when the new law kicks in, an additional 2.5 cents per gallon tax on motor fuel in Missouri will be collected. The tax will increase an additional 2.5 cents per gallon in each fiscal year until reaching an additional 12.5 cents per gallon on July 1, 2025.

Missouri’s current tax is 17 cents per gallon on all motor fuels including gasoline, diesel, and biodiesel. When fully implemented, Missouri’s fuel tax will be 29.5 cents per gallon.

A person in a vehicle of 26,000 pounds or less may claim an exemption and a refund on the fuel tax paid for collection. The exemption and refund shall be issued on a fiscal year basis, but to receive a refund, the person must do the following:

(1) The person must present a statement to the Department of Revenue that shows the total fuel tax paid in the applicable fiscal year for each vehicle for which the exemption and refund is claimed.

(2) The claim must be filed between July 1 and September 30 after the fiscal year for which the exemption and refund is claimed.

(3) The claim statement may be submitted electronically.

(4) Information in the claim statement must include:

    • Vehicle identification number
    • Date of fuel sale
    • Name and address of purchaser
    • Name and address of seller
    • Number of gallons purchased, and
    • Number of gallons purchased and charged Missouri fuel tax, as a separate item.

Every person shall maintain and keep records for three years supporting the claim statement filed with the Department of Revenue, along with invoices, original sales receipts marked paid by the seller, bills of lading, and other pertinent records that may be required.

The Department of Revenue may investigate such records before issuing an exemption and refund. The Department shall pay interest on refunds not issued within 45 days of an accurate and complete filing for exemption.

The legislation also increases current fees for alternative fuel (such as electric vehicle) decals by 20 percent per year for the next five years, except the fee for vehicles in excess of 36,000 pounds is increased by 10 percent per year for the next five years, and the fee for temporary decals is not changed. Such decals are displayed on the vehicle to show fees have been paid.

Also, the legislation establishes the “Electric Vehicle Task Force” within the Department of Revenue to analyze and make recommendations regarding the impact of electric vehicle usage on transportation funding. The task force is to provide its findings to the General Assembly and to the Governor no later than Dec. 31, 2022.